Colored Stones: Setting A New Standard Part 2

  1. Blog
  2. Art of the Gem
  3. Colored Stones: Setting A New Standard Part 2


In diamonds gems are categorized in two ways. Color grades ranging from the absence of color (D means the diamond is colorless and as color increases the scale moves towards Z, meaning the color is dominant) and the strength/ intensity of the color or the “fancy color scale” (Faint, Very Light, Light, Fancy, Fancy Intense, Fancy Dark, Fancy Deep, and Fancy Vivid). Colored stones aren’t as cut and dry. Because colored gems can be so different we use the same “fancy color scale” but break down the range into three separate components:

Hue is described best as the apparent color of a gem upon first impression. Easily noted as the basic color that the gem resembles. For example: red, yellow, blue, pink, purple, etc.

 (It is not always that simple however, many gems have strong secondary colors that show through. In these cases the secondary color can be noted as a secondary modifying color is which case you would use a description like, bluish red.)

Tone is described as the quality of the color. This is judged based on the amount of light and dark properties in the stone. Tone can range from white to black.

Saturation is described as the strength and intensity of the hue. Gemstones with low saturation and washed out properties are noted as brownish/ grayish. Gemstones with strong saturation are graded as deep/vivid.

AZEERA buys and crafts gems that have: beautiful hues, notable tones, and vivid saturation. But color is just the first step on our custom gemstone ring’s way to an AAA grade. Check out the next 3 steps in our following blogs!

  • Please sign in to comment
Icon Arrow left